Iced Earth

Iced Earth is an American heavy metal band from Tampa, Florida. Originally formed under the name "Purgatory" in 1984, Iced Earth has released a total of ten studio albums, one live album and three EPs, compilations and boxsets. Their first album, simply titled Iced Earth, was released in 1990 and their latest release, Dystopia, was released on October 17, 2011. Iced Earth is well known for having an ever-changing line-up, with band founder and rhythm guitarist Jon Schaffer staying the only constant member throughout the groups over 20-year existence. Besides Schaffer, the longest-running musician in the group was singer Matt Barlow. Barlow originally joined for their 1995 album, Burnt Offerings, and stayed until 2003, when he became a police officer. After Barlow, the band was fronted by Tim "Ripper" Owens for two albums, until Barlow returned in late 2007. He left once again in 2011, this time citing family reasons and the bands tour schedule. Currently the band is fronted by Stu Block from Into Eternity.