The Jon Spencer Blues Explosion

The Jon Spencer Blues Explosion

The Jon Spencer Blues Explosion are an American alternative rock trio, formed in 1991 and based out of New York City, New York. The band consists of Judah Bauer on guitar, backing vocals, harmonica and occasional lead vocals, Russell Simins on drums and Jon Spencer on vocals, guitar and theremin. Their musical style is largely rooted in Rock and roll although it draws influences from punk, blues, garage, rockabilly, soul, noise rock, rhythm and blues and rap. They have released seven official studio albums, collaborative records with Dub Narcotic Sound System and R.L. Burnside as well as numerous singles, out-take albums, compilations, remix albums and, in 2010, a series of expanded reissues. Throughout the course of their career this experimental sound and occasionally unconventional recording techniques has allowed the band to work with a number of diverse artists including Andre Williams, Dr. John, Alec Empire, Elliott Smith, Beck, Solomon Burke, Rufus Thomas, DJ Shadow, Steve Albini, Rob K, James Chance, UNKLE, Chuck D, Money Mark, Calvin Johnson, Dan The Automator, Othar Turner, Jill Cunniff, Jim Dickinson, Luther Dickinson, Cody Dickinson, Bernie Worrell, Willie Weeks, David Holmes, Steve Jordan, Martina Topley-Bird and Ad Rock of the Beastie Boys.


Click a point on the map for more information and to buy tickets.

What people are saying about The Jon Spencer Blues Explosion

This area is intended for discussion only. If you have a question about your order, or require customer service you can get in touch via our Customer Service Area. Comments enquiring about existing orders, including personal details, or with questions will be deleted.