Blurt is a British musical group founded by the poet, saxophonist and puppeteer Ted Milton in 1979 in Stroud, Gloucestershire; with Milton's brother Jake Milton, formerly of psychedelic group Quintessence, on drums and Peter Creese on guitar. After three albums Creese left the band to be replaced by Herman Martin on synthesizers who, after a year of constant touring left the band, and was replaced by Steve Eagles, former member of Satans Rats, The Photos and Bang Bang Machine. Shortly thereafter Jake Milton left to be replaced by Paul Wigens, with a short interim on drums by Nic Murcott. Eagles was replaced by Chris Vine as guitarist from 1990 to 1994. The latest drummer in the band is Dave Aylward, replacing Bob Leith who manned the drumkit from 2005 until 2008. Charles Hayward also played in Blurt from May until October 2001. Blurt's compositions are predominantly based around simple, repetitive minimalistic guitar and/or saxophone phrases, but can also explore more abstract musical territories, often serving as an atmospheric backdrop for Ted Milton's existentialist poetry.