Julia Biel

Julia Biel (born 22 February 1976) is a British singer and songwriter and multi-instrumentalist. After a spell in indie rock, Biel became involved with jazz. Her career took off when in 2000 she won the Perrier Vocalist of the Year award. She has performed around the United Kingdom to critical acclaim with her own band, and her self-produced debut album Not Alone (featuring songs co-written with guitarist Jonny Phillips, with whom she collaborated for some years previous) was released in 2005, again receiving critical praise. She is also known for her work with various members of the F-IRE Collective, most notably Sebastian Rochford on whose Polar Bear project she has featured. Formerly the singer of a now defunct project Unity, she came onto the radar of Everything But The Girl producer Ben Watt who released their EP Love in the Dead of Night on his Buzzin Fly label (2004). Subsequently, Watt invited Biel to collaborate on other material, a single of his "Guinea Pig" (2008) and also 'Bright Star'(2010), a 3-way collaboration between Watt, Biel and German producer Stimming. In both cases Biel was responsible for the melodies.

Sorry, there are no shows on sale for Julia Biel right now.

What people are saying about Julia Biel

This area is intended for discussion only. If you have a question about your order, or require customer service you can get in touch via our Customer Service Area. Comments enquiring about existing orders, including personal details, or with questions will be deleted.