The Danse Society

The Danse Society are a positive punk (the precursory term for gothic rock) group from Barnsley, England, active from 1981 to 1987. They achieved moderate fame during their short career. Their line-up included Steve Rawlings (voice), Paul Nash (guitar), Lyndon Scarfe (keyboards), Tim Wright (bass) and Paul Gilmartin (drums). Lyndon Scarfe was replaced by David Whitaker (formerly of Music for Pleasure) after the Heaven is Waiting Album. In 1980, they recorded and released their first single, "Clock," on their own newly formed record label, Society Records. Their most well known album, Heaven is Waiting, was released in December, 1983 by Arista. The album contained a cover of The Rolling Stones song, "2000 Light Years from Home", also edited in 1984 as a 12" single and as a limited edition double single. In 1986, the other band members left to form Johnny In The Clouds, after releasing their final album as Danse Society International, Looking Through. Rawlings later reappeared in 1987 as Society with the single, "Saturn Girl."

Sorry, there are no shows on sale for The Danse Society right now.