The Lion King

Lyceum Theatre, London

 

Read Customer Reviews
The Lion King is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 33.
  • y_2019, m_11, d_20, h_3
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.3-b1
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_33
  • loc_en_GB, sid_the-lion-king, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_seetickets
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.1.1.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 140ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

More information about The Lion King tickets

  • The Lion King: Where Percussion and Pictures Paint an Iconic Scene

    From Hollywood to the West End, The Lion King has been an enduring success since 1994. Taking the famous story of Simba and his turbulent ascension to king, the stage show is a one-way ticket to the Pride Lands. With mesmeric scenery drawing you in, you?ll almost feel part of the action as you journey through Simba?s world. To bring The Lion King to life, the show?s original director, Julie Taymor, combined live performers and innovative props. Creating a visual feast that?s since redefined how musicals could and should look, The Lion King really is an all-singing, all-dancing affair.

    Why is the Lion King a Roaring Success?

    Since it debuted in 1997 at the Orpheum Theatre in Minneapolis, Minnesota, The Lion King has become the highest-grossing musical in history. As well as breaking Broadway running records, the show has taken the West End by storm. Today, with more than £8 billion grossed internationally, The Lion King is an undeniable success. In fact, even for those that aren?t inspired by the story of Simba, the show remains a musical hit. Why? For many return viewers, the staging and styling are simply unrivalled. According to The Guardian?s Michael Billington, the show remains ?kaleidoscopically brilliant? to this day. With the heart of the Serengeti beating in time with musical magic from Elton John, Lebo M and Tim Rice, audiences can?t help but feel part of the action. Indeed, as birds swoop down the aisles and giraffes glide across the stage, everyone is immersed in this Disney fantasy.

    Find Out Why the Lion King Continues to Reign Supreme

    With the hype surrounding Disney Pictures? 2019 reimaging of The Lion King, interest in the stage show is bigger than ever. Fortunately, securing the perfect seats for this aesthetic masterpiece is easy. With a few clicks, you can get the best seats in the house right here and immerse yourself in one of the most stunning West End musicals available today.

    What the Lion King Critics Say

    Even after 20 years enthralling audiences worldwide, The Lion King continues to impress those that are notoriously difficult to impress: ?A radical piece of theatre? a world that is fiercely non-literal, often to moving and wondrous.? David Gritten ? The Telegraph. ?The Lion King's absolute theatricality is astonishing.? TimeOut Magazine. ?The show was, and is, a shrewd synthesis of global Avant-Garde techniques. It provides a feast for the eyes.? Michael Billington ? The Guardian.

    Important Information

    £1.25 restoration levy (collected on behalf of the theatre) appears as part of the face value.

    BOOKING PERIOD: Until 30 May 2020

    PERFORMANCE TIMES: Tuesday - Saturday: 7.30pm, Wednesday, Saturday and Sunday: 2.30pm

    RUNNING TIME: 2 hours and 30 minutes, including one intermission. There is no dress code at the theatre. For all performances, attire should be comfortable and appropriate for the occasion. The theatre is air conditioned throughout the year.)

    AGE RESTRICTION: Children under 3 years of age are not permitted to enter the Lyceum Theatre. The Lion King is recommended for ages 6 and up. All persons aged 16 or under must be accompanied by an adult and may not sit on their own within the auditorium. All persons entering the theatre, regardless of age, must have a ticket.

    VENUE: Lyceum Theatre 21 Wellington Street, London WC2E 7RQ

    Watch The Trailer

    Spotify Playlist

    Production Shots

     

  •  

What people are saying about The Lion King

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing - my first experience at the theatre! The whole show and experience made our whole weekend away in London so special! From start to finish you were amazed by the brilliant acting/ costumes and special effects! Would 100% recommend! :-)
Date published: 2019-07-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing costumes and lively music A stunning performance full of energy. The costumes are amazing and I love how the animals come to life! Highly recommend! One of the best musicals on the west end
Date published: 2019-05-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from GO SEE THIS My daughter and I saw this as part of our overnight stay in London. It was absolutely STUNNING - seriously! Admittedly I was dubious as puppets are not my thing but ‘puppets’ is a bit of an understatement about this show. The costumes are amazing and the cast are simply brilliant ❤️. The Lyceum Theatre itself is fabulous building that really does set the tone for an evening of prime entertainment. Look at the official trailer on YouTube - go and watch this show ❤️
Date published: 2019-04-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Absolutely a must see I went with my Grandaughter as her birthday treat. Absolutely unforgettable time was had.
Date published: 2019-04-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from ONE OF OUR BEST EXPERIENCES IN THE THEATRE wonderful experience of light and sound. Everything impeccable.
Date published: 2019-01-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Highlight of 2018 I took my wife and three friends - we all absolutely enjoyed the play
Date published: 2018-12-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Incredible show! I went to see the Lion King with my daughter and was utterly mesmerised! The costumes, singing and staging were all fantastic and we had the most amazing time. Probably the best show i have ever seen!!
Date published: 2018-10-09
Rated 3 out of 5 by from SHOW GOOD BUT HELLO...... I left early because a group of foreign kids would not shut up!!! They talked and made noises throughout my time there despite numerous shushes from various people.
Date published: 2018-08-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The best show ever When I went to see it first word I said when it started with WOW it was worth that money .
Date published: 2018-04-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best show I’ve ever seen I waited years to see this show and it was worth the wait. It made me cry and was breathtaking. I would watch it again and again. An overwhelmingly beautiful show
Date published: 2018-03-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love love love loved it!!! Went to this for my 1st wedding anniversary in 2013 ansloutly loved it. Fantastic performance would deffo see this again
Date published: 2017-11-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Unreal!!!!!! Best thing I have ever seen......EVERRRR! Been twice and I'm ready to go again! Don't forget the tissues tho #emosh
Date published: 2016-12-09
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Great scenery boring story line long winded couldn't wait for it to end Disappointed !! Scenery was fantastic costumes amazing but the story line and songs lacked any kind of soul thought it would be a feel good show , nearly fell asleep numerous times throughout , there's much better shows in London to see and cheaper too
Date published: 2016-12-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from lion king very good show. I was gutted that I was charged £5.40 for 2 cups of tea though
Date published: 2016-11-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best night of the year! Amazing show! It was a lot of fun, the cast were brilliant as were the costumes
Date published: 2015-11-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing!!! Dont normally go theatre but was asked to go. So glad i did. Absolutely amazing show. Am planning to go and see it again
Date published: 2015-11-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Magical and enchanting A birthday treat for me and my husband. He is a big strong butch guy but found himself reduced to tears by this production! Amazing singing and spectacular costumes. You will not be disappointed. A treat for all the family. I could watch it over and over.
Date published: 2015-11-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from the lion king a wonderful show for all the family. incredible lifelike animals, beautiful singing and a lovely story
Date published: 2015-11-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great musical I went to the musical of the Lion king with my boyfriend. It is amazing even though my seat is located on the third floor.
Date published: 2015-11-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic, Would recommend to anyone, if you get the chance then go and watch.
Date published: 2015-11-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from An amazing Show! Been trying to see this for years! Even in New York. Loved it!
Date published: 2015-11-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The highlight of our trip to London. My daughter and I saw The Lion King during a three day stay in London. The show was spectacular and certainly lived up to all the high recommendations that had prompted us to go . The costumes and stage design were fantastic and done with such skill and imagination. A thoroughly captivating performance which showcases some of the excellent talent in this country!
Date published: 2015-11-05
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Family time. I went to this event as a family treat with my husband and two children.
Date published: 2015-11-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best musical in my life I went to this event few month ago. That was so amazing and unforgettable. The Lion King was so touching and affecting me a lot.
Date published: 2015-11-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from One of my favourite shows. I went to see this with my son and it was wonderful. So colourful and livelywith beautiful costumes and amazing puppets. The cast are brilliant, especially the children. It has the added bonus of the original songs from the movie too.
Date published: 2015-11-04
  • y_2019, m_11, d_20, h_3
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.3-b1
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_33
  • loc_en_GB, sid_the-lion-king, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_seetickets
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.1.1.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 0ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT