The Play That Goes Wrong

Duchess Theatre, London

 

Read Customer Reviews
THE PLAY THAT GOES WRONG is rated 4.9 out of 5 by 50.
  • y_2019, m_4, d_24, h_20
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_50
  • loc_en_GB, sid_the-play-that-goes-wrong, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_seetickets
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.1.1.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 203ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

More information about The Play That Goes Wrong tickets

  • 2017 Broadway World Winner for Best New Play
    2017 Broadway.com Winner Favourite New Play
    2015 Olivier Award Winner for Best New Comedy
    2015 BroadwayWorld UK Winner for Best New Play
    2014 WhatsOnStage Award Winner for Best New Comedy

    The Cornley Polytechnic Drama Society are putting on a 1920s murder mystery, but as the title suggests, everything that can go wrong... does! The accident-prone thespians battle against all odds to make it through to their final curtain call, with hilarious consequences!

    Given 5 stars from The Daily Mail, called a 'Gut-busting hit' by the New York Times and with celebrity endorsements from the likes of Ant and Dec as the 'funniest show we've seen! If you can get a ticket go', what are you waiting for?

    Now stumbling through its fourth catastrophic year, The Play That Goes Wrong is guaranteed to leave you aching with laughter!

    Production Shots


    The Play That Goes Wrong

    Important Information


    BOOKING PERIOD: Going WRONGER for LONGER - Now booking until October 2019

    PERFORMANCE TIMES: Tuesday - Saturday 7.30pm, Thursday & Saturday 2.30pm, Sunday 3pm and 7pm.

    RUNNING TIME:  2 hrs 5 mins including a 20 min interval

    PLEASE NOTE: A ú1.25 restoration levy (collected on behalf of the theatre) appears as part of the ticket cost.

    AGE RESTRICTION: 8

    ACCESS PERFORMANCES:
    11 July 2018 3pm - Captioned Performance

    VENUE: The Duchess Theatre is located at 3 - 5 Catherine Street, London WC2B 5LA

  •  

What people are saying about The Play That Goes Wrong

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Non stop laughter Bought these as a birthday present for my mum and it was the best birthday present I got her she said. Best night if you want a great laugh out loud play to see. Already looking to see The Bank robbery now.
Date published: 2018-11-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Doesn't disappoint We want as a family with our 17 and 19 year old son and daughter. I had previously seen A comedy about a bank robbery by the same company and had very much enjoyed it. Laughed all the way through , great comic timing and set design. Would recommend to anyone , we enjoyed it as much as the older people next to us and the much younger people behind us.
Date published: 2018-11-05
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not as funny as the reviews would have you believe. I really wanted to enjoy this show and having seen lots of wonderful reviews, was looking forward to splitting my sides laughing. Alas, it is not that funny. Yes, the cast work hard (both physically and verbally) to create humerous situations and a lot has gone into the staging too, however the whole is NOT greater than the sum of its parts...sadly :-( One to avoid.
Date published: 2018-10-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent play Play was recommended by a friend. Haven't laughed so much in a long time. Very well acted. One not to be missed.
Date published: 2018-10-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Laughter till my face hurt! I booked as a surprise for my husband, not disappointed we had a brilliant afternoon. Good too see good slapstick humour, very cleverly portrayed
Date published: 2018-10-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Hilarious from start to finish Having arrived and in our seats the show starts without us knowing what was happening. It had everything from slapstick, innuendo, mime and audience participation through out. Couldn't stop laughing the whole time.
Date published: 2018-10-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This play was very funny If you like slapstick, this is the play for you. The timing was excellent throughout. Take your seats early as the actors appear from about 7.15 onwards.
Date published: 2018-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Belly laugh funny Treat for my friend. Didn't know what to expect. So funny didn't stop laughing. Performers excellent
Date published: 2018-10-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The play that goes wrong Went to the Dutchess Theatre in the Strand to see the play that goes wrong. Warning though. If you have a cardiac or respiratory problem don’t go. It was a laugh from start to finish, in fact I haven’t laughed so much EVER. I hope that the cast get to see the reviews because they work so hard and deserve all the credit they get. To do this 8 times a week must be exhausting. Very well done to all of you!!!
Date published: 2018-10-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loved it I have have heard from a lot of people that this was the funniest play that they have seen so I went to see it and it didn’t disappoint I do not know a time when I laughed so much it was very funny I will be going to see the bank robbery that goes wrong next year I would recommend the play to eneyone
Date published: 2018-10-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Brilliant and funny I have wanted to see this play for a while, and it did not disappoint!! Brilliantly orchestrated and funny throughout
Date published: 2018-10-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Even better the second time around! We saw this in March 2018 and laughed so hard we were gasping for breath! We figured we see it again and be amused because we'd know what was coming and it would be fun in a different way! Boy! Were we wrong! They've changed some of the cast since March and made some changes to the script so even though the story followed along the same lines as what we saw in, it was enough of a change to make it fresh and (hard as it may be to believe) even funnier! If you only see one play while you are in London, this should be it!
Date published: 2018-10-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Complete giggle! The third time I've seen this play and it was just as good as ever -a complete giggle from even before it started right to the end. Go and see it before it finishes in Feb 19!
Date published: 2018-10-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Best Comedy I have seen this year I went with half of my family (including children), and we laugh from beginning to end. Great performers and very funny. Love it and have been recommending it.
Date published: 2018-10-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Funniest play I’ve seen in along while I booked this at the last minute because my husband and daughters went away for a few days. Thought I would treat myself and so glad that I did. It was so funny my throat hurt from all the laughing.
Date published: 2018-09-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Most fun I’ve ever had at the theatre Family trip to the theatre with kids aged 10 and 12, all left with aching sides after laughing for two hours straight! Comedy genius, impeccable timing, loved every character - and would watch it again tomorrow.
Date published: 2018-09-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This play is a "must see" This play is hilarious The audience were hooting with laughter My husband is a quiet person but this really brought him out of his shell
Date published: 2018-09-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Play That Went Wrong Such an excellent play so funny! Timing was impeccable and slapstick so well done. Haven’t laughed so much in years the cast were amazing!!
Date published: 2018-09-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Funny ,funny funny. A must see Thoroughly enjoyed the play. Excellent cast. Very clever. Excellent timing.
Date published: 2018-09-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A masterpiece of mishaps! This was my second time seeing this play, and it was just as funny as I remembered! The current cast brought their own eccentricities to the characters, and the timings for all the mishaps were spot on. A fun night out!
Date published: 2018-09-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Thoroughly entertaining throughout! Loved the play from start to finish. Great acting and the use of the stage with it breaking down at various points was good. Found it as funny as Book Of Mormon. Would recommend to anyone who found that amusing. Sat near the front and had a good view of the stage and a bit of interaction between the cast and crowd.
Date published: 2018-09-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Hilarious! Glad we went! Was a last minute decision but so glad that we went. Never laughed so much. Very talented actors. So much going on all over the stage. I would definitely see it again!
Date published: 2018-09-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Brilliant fun Suitable for any age, great fun but with plenty of silly slapstick farce. Seriously funny!
Date published: 2018-09-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cried with laughter My husband and I took our 12 year old daughter to this show and we all cried laughing. Insanely funny, perfectly timed slapstick, brilliantly "un-acted" and really good clean fun. You have to go see this show.
Date published: 2018-09-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from ‘Such fun’ We saw this play over a year ago and still talk about it with friends! If you have ever been in an amateur dramatic society it is very relatable. Amazing, this show is hilarious from start to finish. We have seen all three productions from this theatre company (peter pan, bank robbery) based on how much we enjoyed this show. The cast and their timing is impeccable! How they keep in character is beyond me! You must see this show! Amy and John Clark.
Date published: 2018-09-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The funniest play i’ve Seen all year From start to finish the play was a riot of fun and very cleverly put together. The actors worked hard throughout the performance and deserved the laughter and applause they received.
Date published: 2018-09-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A side splitting corker of a production. I recently went to see this production with my boyfriend and did not stop laughing from start to finish. I immensely enjoyed the interaction with the cast even before the play offically commenced. Go and see it for yourself you will not be disappointed
Date published: 2018-09-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Laughed till my chest hurt I went with my friend after getting a notification of discounted ticket availibility. My simmer budget was kaput so this kissed the pain away when we clinched front row seats for a great price. After seating the play started immediately with one of the characters asking us where her dog Winston was and Trevor, the lighting man, basically told the audience the play was going to be rubbish. We knew we were in for a great night. Modern slapstick in the vein of the 80s comedy "The Young Ones". High energy from the set falling to pieces and the actors.....falling to pieces whilst all of us fell to pieces with laughter. This theatre was intimate and cosy, staff were professional and pleasant. Great night.
Date published: 2018-09-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Absolutely amazing The play was fantastic and hilarious will be recommending to everyone!
Date published: 2018-09-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best play I've seen We went to this play as it was the only play on a Sunday night in london,so glad we did it's the funniest thing I have seen in years from start to Finnis it was hilarious so please treat your selves and go and see it,
Date published: 2018-08-14
  • y_2019, m_4, d_24, h_20
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_50
  • loc_en_GB, sid_the-play-that-goes-wrong, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_seetickets
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.1.1.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 0ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT