Department S

The Met Lounge, Peterborough.

Department S

Show is open to 14+ but all under 16's must be accomp by 18+/adult.

Show curfew is 10.45pm. All 18+ concert goers can stay free of charge for the club session afterwards starting at 11pm - 3am

Choose Tickets

14+ only. 14s to 16s must be accompanied by an adult. No refunds will be given for incorrectly booked tickets.

Ticket type Cost (face value)? Quantity
GENERAL ADMISSION £16.50 (£15.00) Transaction fee applicable *

* The transaction fee is £0.00 for E-ticket (Print-at-home), £1.50 for Box Office Collection or £2.50 for Standard Delivery.

Please note that this fee is per transaction and not per ticket.

More information about Department S tickets

Department S : Biography 1980-Present

 Department S are back playing gigs for what is now the 10th year since they reformed. Current line up features the legendary Mike Herbage, Eddie Roxy and ex Pil, Cowboys International, Brian Brain bass man Pete Jones…along with new guitarist Phil Thompson (who also plays for Bug) and Alan Galaxy on drums

The band played their first gig in their hometown of London at the Rock Garden on 24 September 1980. Their first single, "Is Vic There?", was released in December 1980.  It was produced by former Mott the Hoople members Buffin and Overend Watts, and reached number 23 in the UK charts aided by 3 appearances on Top Of The Pops.

The group recorded a session for the legendary DJ John Peel on 3 December 1980. The tracks laid down were "Is Vic There?"; "Age Concern"; "Ode To Cologne (Stench Of War)"; and "Clap Now".

The follow-up single "Going Left Right", was released on the Stiff Records and reached number 34 in the charts whilst the third single “I Want” didn’t sell well in the UK but was a hit in many European markets. Differences of opinion with their record label, resulted in the band being dropped by Stiff, but not before £50,000 was reputedly spent on what was to be their debut albumSub-Stance (subsequently released on LTM in 2003).

Toulouse later worked as a DJ under the name Main T, before recording as a solo artist with a 1985 single "Fickle Public Speaking”. Eddie Roxy had some European success with his band Dream Sequence with a single called “Outside Looking In” and Michael Herbage played with The Purple Hearts

The band reformed in 2006 with original members Herbage, Mizon, Taylor and Roxy. The later took over the role of vocalist as Vaughn Toulouse had died of Aids in 1991.In February 2007, Department S recorded their first new single for twenty six years, a cover version of Alvin Stardust's 1973 hit "My Coo-Ca-Choo". Since then there have been a number of subsequent releases, including the well received LP “Mr Nutley’s Strange Delusionarium” with the addition of Sam Burnett (ex Back to Zero). Department S have built up a reputation as being a must see live band are to be found playing festival dates across Europe including Glastonbury, Benicassim, Rebellion, Rewind, Great British Alternative Music Festival and Sinner’s Day.

 Their 2010 single “Wonderful Day” featured on a TV commercial and had guest appearances from Marco Perroni and Glen Matlock. In  2013 Mark Taylor stepped down as bass player and was replaced by Ex Public Image Limited/Brian Brain/Cowboys International bass man Pete Jones. 2015 saw Mizon step down and Alex Lutes and Phil Thompson joined the line up.

September 2016 saw Department S release the 3rd Department S album “When all is said and all is done” along with a single of the same name….to rave reviews. October 2017 saw the release of another long player “45 Revolutions” (Singles 1980-2017). Live shows this year will be across Europe pairing Department S with Ian Hunter (Mott the Hoople), The Mission, Eddie & the Hot Rods, Ruts DC and The Mission to name a few


For further info visit our website