Chess Tickets and Dates

Read Customer Reviews
CHESS is rated 4.4 out of 5 by 27.
  • y_2020, m_1, d_25, h_12
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.4
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_27
  • loc_en_GB, sid_chess, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_seetickets
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.1.1.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 125ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Sorry there are no shows for Chess right now.

Past Chess Events

More Information about Chess

The first West End production of Chess since 1986 starring Michael Ball , Alexandra Burke, Tim Howar, Cassidy Janson and Cedric Neal. This epic musical love story, will open at the London Coliseum on Thursday 26 April for a strictly limited five week season. Written in 1984 by ABBA songwriters Benny Andersson and Björn Ulvaeus, and Tim Rice (Jesus Christ Superstar, The Lion King, Evita), Chess tells a story of love and political intrigue, set against the background of the Cold War in the late 1970s/early 1980s, in which superpowers attempt to manipulate an international chess championship for political ends. Two of the world's greatest chess masters, one American, one Russian, are in danger of becoming the pawns of their governments as their battle for the world title gets under way. Simultaneously their lives are thrown into further confusion by a Hungarian refugee, a remarkable woman who becomes the centre of their emotional triangle. This mirrors the heightened passions of the political struggles that threaten to destroy lives and loves. Includes the international hit singles 'I Know Him So Well' and 'One Night In Bangkok'. Other well-known songs from the score include 'Anthem', 'Someone Else's Story', 'Heaven Help my Heart' and 'Pity The Child'. Featuring English National Opera's award-winning Orchestra and Chorus, conducted by John Rigby with choreography by Stephen Mear. This new West End production will be directed by Laurence Connor, whose recent credits include School of Rock and Miss Saigon on Broadway and in the West End, Les Miserables on Broadway, and the international Jesus Christ Superstar arena tour. This is the fourth production in collaboration with ENO by Michael Linnit and Michael Grade.

What people are saying about Chess

Rated 2 out of 5 by from Dated - Might last the 6 weeks. Wonderful theatre, great presentation and set design. Orchestra and sound beyond expectation. Wonderful performance by Michael Ball, Alexandra and Co. First half was hard work, second half improved. Won't be going back or recommending.
Date published: 2018-05-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Definitely my favourite musical so far this year A brilliant musical in a very ornate theatre. The staff were very helpful as my husband had trouble with his back and they let him walk along the back of the balcony during the second half. definitely one I would see again.
Date published: 2018-05-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Most enjoyable show I went with my husband yesterday what a fabulous show. Singing and music was fantastic.
Date published: 2018-05-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Outstanding The best musical ever and lve seen them all. The stage design was superb. The choreography was outstanding. Every soloist had a great voice. Nothing missing at all.
Date published: 2018-05-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Still in awe! I can’t believe this show is only on for 6 weeks. It was spectacular from beginning to end. The use of tv cameras blended into the show perfectly and meant you could see all the action close up. Watch out for the flight arrival - the best staging idea I’ve seen.
Date published: 2018-05-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Chess is fantastic! We saw Chess 32 years ago but this rendition is even better. The singing is superb.
Date published: 2018-05-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Reminded just how great the music was! Went to see chess on my own after work. Loved it. As I had a cheap ticket up in the balcony the stage was quite a distance away but this didn't really detract from the main event as quite a bit was shown on big screens either side of the stage. There were a few moments when the style of singing did cause a difficulty in hearing all of the words but the story was great and the acting excellent. The two main male chess players were superb and the female lead did herself proud. I hadn't realised until the day that Alexandra Burke was also starring and well she can turn out an emotional tune. Highly recommend seeing this during its short season. I also had never been inside the London coliseum and that was a pure delight.
Date published: 2018-05-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Michael ball fans I took my mum and sister to see this Play as I was too young to see the original cast. One night in Bangkok and know him so well so excited with the added bonus of Michael Ball what is not to love. All performances outstanding but still does not distract from a storyline that needs work ( even for a fan of the above) mum enjoyef and that was the main point
Date published: 2018-05-10
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Some parts were excellent and some parts did not impress. Some members of the cast were much better than others. I particularly rated Michael Ball and Cassidy Janson. Cedric Neal was also good. The changes from both the original show and the superb Swedish Chess Pa Svenska did not enhance the production. Sadly I thought that Alexandra Burke was out of her depth and did not impress.
Date published: 2018-05-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A really entertaining production I thoroughly enjoyed this production of Chess (my favourite musical) and I hope I can manage to see it again before the end of the run. Michael Ball really captured Anatoly's struggle to do the very best he could for both those he loves and for himself while being true to his game
Date published: 2018-05-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic Revival. Fantastic show from start to finish. The staging was inventive and sleek. The performances from the main cast were flawless. So many standout moments like Anthem sung by Michael Ball. I Know Him So Well and One Night in Bangkok brought back happy memories of the original stage show. I would highly recommend this show and also this beautiful venue. I also had the pleasure of catching the revival of Sunset Boulevard with the magnificent Glenn Close and can’t wait for the next revival in the near future.
Date published: 2018-05-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fabulous update of the original show The show was awesome. I saw the original production many years ago and my goodness what a contrast. A very ‘modern’ interpretation and superbly delivered by a stunning cast.
Date published: 2018-05-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Gread show I.went to watch the matinee performance which was great. Singing and scenery excellent.
Date published: 2018-05-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 3rd experience of chess Wonderful show...blown away by mr ball! By far the best production yet !
Date published: 2018-05-06
Rated 2 out of 5 by from My least favourite experience this year. I was very disappointed with this production and found the screens extremely disconcerting, they took a way a huge percentage of my enjoyment
Date published: 2018-05-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Absolutely brilliant A very good show! good storyline and done great singers, Michael ball and alexandra Burke were amazing, the only downpoint was doorman checking bags on entry rudesign and abrupt
Date published: 2018-05-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really is my favourite musical I first saw the musical ‘Chess’ in 1986, and loved it then, so when I saw it was showing again I booked my seats immediately. I feel this time around it was even better, and the sets were outstanding. The music is wonderful, and the words Tim Rice has written have not faded at all in over 30 years. Just loved every minute.
Date published: 2018-05-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing show This show was so slick with plenty going on to hold my attention. The music was powerful and Michael Ball shone out as the star. The other leading singers were wonderful. It was Michael Ball’s performance of the Anthem that was so amazing and so emotional that the atmosphere in the theatre was electric. Superbly backed up by the English National Opera and their orchestra as well as the rest of the ensemble, acrobats and dancers. A show not to be missed as shown by the standing ovation at the end.
Date published: 2018-05-04
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Would book better seats next time! We sat in the balcony seats but I could only see part of the stage and couldn't see the actors when they were at the front of the stage. It was also difficult to understand what they were saying, diction was poor. Maybe if we had sat in the stalls or it was at a better venue we would have had a better experience. On a plus note the lead females were excellent as were the rest of the cast. Definitely worth watching. If it comes out on DVD I will watch it again at home!
Date published: 2018-04-29
  • y_2020, m_1, d_25, h_12
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.4
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_27
  • loc_en_GB, sid_chess, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_seetickets
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.1.1.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 0ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT