Liverpool Sound City Tickets and Dates

Read Customer Reviews
LIVERPOOL SOUND CITY is rated 3.0 out of 5 by 38.
  • y_2020, m_2, d_23, h_13
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.5
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_38
  • loc_en_GB, sid_liverpool-sound-city, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_seetickets
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.1.1.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 125ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

What people are saying about Liverpool Sound City

Rated 4 out of 5 by from Velvet underground The experience was positive. The sound not that good. I hope for more craft beer in the future
Date published: 2017-06-02
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Wasted opportunity This was a treat for myself, partner and nephew but was a big disappointment. We waited ages without a drink, because the queues for beer were massive and we couldn't sit on the hard ground. The sound was poor. John Cale did not introduce any of his guests, some of whom gave bad performances.
Date published: 2017-06-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Thursday and Friday nights Great Thursday with superb backing for Human League. Dubiously charging the price of another pair of tickets for simply being in the 'VIP' area??? Seats for a small proportion of those paying and no working loos??? VIP - the 'I' must mean idiotic as simply it meant you might get a seat and nothing else, though clearly they sold far more tickets than seats knowing the rubble and potholes would soon have you begging to sit.
Date published: 2017-06-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love Human League I went with my boyfriend and had the most amazing evening ever
Date published: 2017-06-01
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Beautiful summers evening but shambolic facilities Only the weather was perfect. One support and the 90 minute gap to main act. Shambolic facilities. Queue for beer was like nothing I have ever seen. Position of Beer tent right next to VIP area meant their exits/entrances split into rest of us in the crowd. Poorly organised
Date published: 2017-06-01
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Highs and lows Some fantastic moments but let down by sound and bar arrangements
Date published: 2017-05-31
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Slightly underwhelmed The Human League performed a 2/3rds set - disappointing. But what they did perform was excellent. Highlight - Sound Of The Crowd. Velvet Underground - a bit of a let down. Sound was poor and the last song went on for over 30 minutes which had the crowd leaving by the bucket load. Highlight - I'm Waiting For The Man.
Date published: 2017-05-31
Rated 1 out of 5 by from very disappointing! I had the impression from the event advert that there would be other bands but there was only a poor local singer with his guitar. The "velvet underground re-imagined" was unimaginably poor. The sound quality was like listening through my grandad's hearing aids. Waste of money sadly.
Date published: 2017-05-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from John Cale Velvet Underground 50th Annoversary Amazing occasion. Brilliant choice of indie artists and interpretations. A privilege to see John again, and a joy to see his own enjoyment and continued enthusiasm for musical exploration. Never give up, John. The only downside was the sound system could have been better, I'm sure, for those towards the rear of the sell-out crowd. Diolch, John.
Date published: 2017-05-31
Rated 2 out of 5 by from VIP a letdown VIP disappointing - bar queue was longer than normal bar and toilets ran out of water !
Date published: 2017-05-31
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Very Disapointed Wasn't clear at the time of booking that this was an open air event. Once there, 40 mins queue to get a beer, poor sound quality, poor choice of musicians to accompany John Cale with no introductions as to who they were. Left early along with many others.
Date published: 2017-05-31
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Some grass would have been nice! Bit of a dustbowl and no shelter (from the sun) and very little seating. It was on a building site so sitting down wasn't really an option. That said, they'd made an effort what for was a small festival. However the queues for the bar were utterly horrendous and long. So a bit more planning re: the bars and relocating somewhere with grass would be good!
Date published: 2017-05-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sound city I had a brilliant time at sound city went Friday and Saturday really well organised staff and security really friendly well worth VIP upgrade defo going next year
Date published: 2017-05-31
Rated 2 out of 5 by from loved the band not the venue The solo artist for the warm up was very good and the Velvet Underground was amazing. The wait (2 hours) between the two was awful as there was no where to sit down as we were stood on dirty ground and did not want to lose our spot. I think the venue could be wonderful if some thought was given to grounds.
Date published: 2017-05-31
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Great artist who could have spent more in sound quality Really looked forward to this event but having absolutely nowhere (no grass) to sit while waiting for 1.5 hour late start didn't help especially as there was no apology. Sound quality was poor. The stewards and car park staff were fantastic and the Ethiopian food stall amazing
Date published: 2017-05-31
Rated 1 out of 5 by from A let down. the sound was poor as were most of the song performances. The stone dusty ground meant it wasn't easy to sit down, which would have been preferable while having to wait hours for the main act to emerge. Pretty badly organised event all told.
Date published: 2017-05-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cale sparkles in shiny boots off leather Cale celebrated 50 years of the famous banana album and he and guests did not disappoint. The highlight was hard to judge but either Cale's Venus In Furs or the amazing Femme Fatale herself Nadine Shar who was every bit as sexy and sultry as Nico. The VIP section for £40 extra was so worth the entrance. 9.5/10 only because there were some sound quality issues.
Date published: 2017-05-31
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Better than 2015, but plenty of room for improvement In 2015 Sound City was staged at the Bramley Moore Dock for the first time, and there were well-documented teething problems. This year, some of the main concerns had been addressed - there was no pointless fairground, and the stages were a little more spaced out. However, I still experienced significant noise spilling over from stage to another, to the point where I literally couldn't hear She Drew The Gun's performance over the much louder sound from the North Stage, which was only a stone's throw away. That performance was also spoiled by another issue which was, in fairness, limited to the Tall Ship stage, and that was vans driving between the stage and the audience during the performance, completely obstructing the audience's view. Why on earth they couldn't ensure that vans drove in front of the stage only between performances or, at the very least, between songs, I don't know. A second issue was the large, reasonably deep puddles that ended up covering the entirety of the toilet areas. Although I didn't notice any smell coming from them, since it didn't rain at any point during the festival it's difficult to imagine that the fluid was anything other than sewage from the toilets. I could be wrong, and I hope I am, because I saw many a female festival-goer attempting to negotiate their way through the puddles in sandals. It would seem remiss of me not to mention the power outages on the main stage on the Sunday evening. I know this sort of technical hitch can happen anywhere at any time, but it does usually reflect at least a degree of failure on the planners' part. The failure must have been with the festival's equipment, not the National Grid. Were there not backups? And, whatever the case, it's pretty poor that no representative of the festival came on stage, even with a megaphone if necessary, to let the crowd know what was going on. Instead we all just stood there, wondering if the band was coming back on, before slowly drifting to other stages. And this happened twice, during Circa Waves and The Coral! Another gripe which a lot of people, quite rightly, grumbled about was the arbitrary imposition of a 4pm deadline for admission. Nobody believed for a second that this had anything to do with licensing restrictions, with theories about trying to prevent people going to the pub over the road as they did last year to beat the usual extortionate festival prices at the bars, or the festival only wanting to pay entrance security staff until 4pm both sounding more plausible. Finally, it must be said that the line-up for this festival was, at best, mediocre. Seeing Catfish and the Bottlemen was great, and The Coral are always good value, but with weekend tickets priced at over £80 (and there's no camping here, remember) and the festival reduced to two days for 2016, I did expect better acts. I probably will attend Sound City again in 2017, as I have for the last five years, because my friends and I always have great fun, but I can't help thinking that mostly we're making the fun ourselves. I just hope the standard of act is higher next year.
Date published: 2016-06-07
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Power cut ? Good event being held back. Power cuts twice on the Sunday for about 15 minutes each for circa waves and the coral. Should not happen at this level of event. Toilet facilities were poor again for an event the size.
Date published: 2016-06-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Another year, Another great festival Sound City rarely disappoints. Bands both known and unknown are well considered. A great mix of old and new. In conversation was hugely interesting Food and drink easily accessible, without long queues. Toilets this year werent as good as last year. A few Electrical mishaps but it didn't ruin the weekend
Date published: 2016-06-07
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Waste of time and money I wouldn't recommend this festival to anyone, the stages were too close together leading to horrible sound clashes. The organization also seemed to be poor with incorrect information on the website.
Date published: 2016-06-04
Rated 1 out of 5 by from More Creamfields than soundcity I have been going to soundcity for years and this is the first one I didn't love. On Saturday in broad daylight at the atlantic stage a group of p1ssed lads were openly weeing in pints and throwing them over the crowd. I told them to stop and they nearly beat me up. I told security and they did nothing. I was appalled that this great music festival was turning into Leeds/Reading and nobody cared. There was take away rubbish and food remains everywhere. There should be full time litter picking and more bins. Bands were great unfortunate sound issues meant we saw the coral and Pete Doherty! I might go again but my wife was appalled by the louts and rubbish.
Date published: 2016-06-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Liverpool Sound City 2016 First time I've attended this event,went with my girlfriend&what a fantastic weekend.A whole array of bands&music&value for money,second to none.Helped the weather was so good too.Highly recommend for next year.
Date published: 2016-06-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Liverpool Sound City Great bands and great music. It was a shame that the power went off twice on the main stage and there was a delay in opening the gates on arrival. However I had a great weekend.
Date published: 2016-05-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great festival Absolutely recommended. Superb city and amazing bands for a small price.
Date published: 2016-05-30
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not what I was hoping for Visited on the Sunday. Doors didn't open as advertised. No VIP upgrades available as advertised but as it turns out it saved me money. The sound bleed between stages ruined the early acts which was a shame. Due to having to be in there so early and the lack of seating I had to take my pregnant wife home before any of the major acts started due being shattered. The idea is great but the execution needs development.
Date published: 2016-05-30
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Palma Violets Catfish were amazing and Palma Violets were great oh wait no they weren't they didn't turn up
Date published: 2016-05-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from The Big Moon Great variety of music including bands from South Korea- Dead Buttons and Patience were fabulous. Great range of food. My wish for next year: more seating for chilling out and defo more toilets- and don't put urinals next to cubicles- I felt sorry for the young women having to use the toilets. Not classy!
Date published: 2016-05-30
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Worst Sound City yet. I've been to Sound City for the last few years and this year's event was poor compared to previous years. The line up was not great and the organisation was poor, particularly the toilets and power for the main stage. The food and venue (although the floor could be flatter) were good, but if Sound City is going to continue at that location the bands must be better and the facilities must be improved.
Date published: 2016-05-30
Rated 3 out of 5 by from IN BY 4 PM!!!!!!! Bands were brilliant. Venue set up better than last year (shame about power failure). Big improvement was that bands could be heard as each had specific start/finish time. But be in by 4pm, really. This meant I missed my gaelic team, Armagh getting spanked by Cavan in the footie. A lot of people I spoke to said the same about the 4pm thing. But it did mean I saw the GOD, Alexi Saye.
Date published: 2016-05-30
  • y_2020, m_2, d_23, h_13
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.5
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_38
  • loc_en_GB, sid_liverpool-sound-city, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_seetickets
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.1.1.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 0ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT