Old Sarum Airshow Tickets and Dates

Read Customer Reviews
OLD SARUM AIRSHOW is rated 3.3 out of 5 by 80.
  • y_2018, m_7, d_22, h_5
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_80
  • loc_en_GB, sid_old-sarum-airshow, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_seetickets
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.1.1.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 125ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Sorry there are no shows for Old Sarum Airshow right now.

Past Old Sarum Airshow Events

What people are saying about Old Sarum Airshow

Rated 5 out of 5 by from A cracking day out Booked to go to this air show as I was looking for an air show that was not too big with plenty of variety. On the outskirts of Salisbury it was a short bus ride to get to the airfield. This was an excellent day, the displays were superb and very well put together. I took a picnic so was very self contained though did enjoy a few cups of tea.
Date published: 2015-11-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Quite a subdued feeling - no show Vulcan - Limited food outlet I met up with friends one was expecting the Vulcan and main reason for going The organisers were let down with caterers but the burger seller who was there made fantastic food. We took turns waiting in line and 3 hours later got our food. Great displays even a WWI dogfight with 8 planes.
Date published: 2015-11-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from One of the best flying displays I've ever been to in many years A very atmospheric and wonderful display of aircraft and flying. Superb selection of replica World War 1 aircraft both German and English. All the flying, both formation and singletons such as the Pitts Special were exemplary. On top of this was the lovely backdrop of Old Sarum grass airfield itself, which added pure nostalgia to this lovely day. A big criticism, hence only 4 stars, was the catering consisting of one burger van for thousands of people. Unbelievable seeing the size of the event and the organisers aware of the expected numbers as it was a pre sold ticket affair.
Date published: 2015-11-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fairford comparison Generally well organised. Good view of event. Good selection of exhibits. Lack of refreshment facilities only downside.
Date published: 2015-11-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Excellent 'new' airshow with close viewing. After very long and frustrating queuing to get in, (think there was a police incident/accident very close to airfield) access was easy with polite attendants. The ability to get very close to the air displays was good, and the content was excellent. Commentary could have been a little better but no real quibbles. Very unfortunate that the Vulcan was unable to attend owing to a suspected fuel leak, and quite despicable that several people left when the news was broadcast over the tannoy as the rest of the show was good. We found it easy to get away after as we were leaving in the opposite direction to most people!We took our own food but I think that the staff coped well after the main caterers didn't turn up! We would probably go again if circumstances allowed. The tickets arrived very early thank-you. Altogether a pretty good experience.
Date published: 2015-11-15
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Disappointing turn of events Attended with my son to see the Vulcan display and Spitfires. The catering failure was a big negative and the lack of Vulcan put the tin lid on a day that could have been fantastic but ultimately wasn't. Lack of the Vulcan for future events will probably mean we'll not come again.
Date published: 2015-11-15
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Aircraft display excellent, support facilities appaling The aircraft displays were excellent, being close to the display line was brilliant, however the support facilities were very poor, disabled parking had to be pre booked, there was only a mention on the website of disabled parking being available, not that it had to be pre booked. Published gate opening times and the actual gate opening times were an hour later. Catering facilities were extremely poor, we do not want to hear excuses that some vendors didn't turn up and that some did not arrive until 10 o'clock then took 45 minutes to get ready. Get then in early and let them set up. The marshals organising the leaving the car parking were doing a difficult job very well.
Date published: 2015-11-14
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Operationally a Good Show but the ground resources were appalling First time visitor had driven up from West Devon - lack of AA signs to Field. Security/car parking staff (in & out were amateurish). No overall control or thrust to what they were doing. Catering was abysmal coffee supplied by overworked wives of organisers with one urn an no idea of what to do. Only two catering vans with queues of over an hour to find that all food sold out three places in front of me with a 100 yds behind me of queue. Worst situation I have seen at any event. I decided to have an ice cream agai queues. A great pity. You need a professional organiser to weld the whole lot together.
Date published: 2015-11-14
Rated 2 out of 5 by from First time at Old Sarum, bit disapointed. Catering facilities were a complete disaster & let down. Spoilt the day as we planned to buy food & drink rather than carry.
Date published: 2015-11-14
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Old Sarum Salisbury I am afraid that we only stayed for just on an hour and a half. My husband has Parkinsons. The food area was not at all good. I waited for over 1/2 hour for food and was still over a hundred people away from being served, at that point I had to return to the car because I could not leave my husband any longer. and we left, because he needed food to take his medication, we did not return and will not attend in the future, it was a great disappointment.
Date published: 2015-11-14
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Good vintage show Overall it wa a good show and the weather held off however only having two food stalls for the whole crowd was very disappointing we had to travel to town for food when they sold out I'm next year will be better
Date published: 2015-11-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A very air show Well put together show with a good collection of aircraft. Very busy, due to the Avro Vulcan XH558 being scheduled as the show closer.
Date published: 2015-11-14
Rated 3 out of 5 by from The flying was great - exiting the carpark terrible ! My first airshow - intimate grass airstrip setting, close to the action for photography with modest 180mm & 300mm lenses on 35mm film, entertaining commentators, and good mix of displays despite the Vulcan no-show. My best shot was of the Flying Fortress and Mustang in close formation, all gleaming in the low autumn sun against a thunder black sky. Excellent - this bit rates 4/5 stars BUT chaos in the carpark afterwards. All of the too-few exits jammed for a good 90 mins with motorists having to guess the least worst queue to join - shambolic. I pitied those with screaming young children (no loos in carpark) - and envied those campvan drivers who brewed up and read the tabloids in deck chairs... Next time this event needs: more exits with LARGE signs, trained stewards visibly directing competing traffic flows WITHIN the carpark, and frequent guidance going out on loudspeakers to reduce drivers' blood pressure ! Hence only 3 stars overall
Date published: 2015-11-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good show but pity the Vulcan didn't make it Good airshow with lots to see. Catering facilities a bit sparse.
Date published: 2015-11-14
Rated 3 out of 5 by from great display of planes, awful queues Great selection of planes, good commentary too. However facilities were terrible. 3 take aways for thousands of people resulted in a one hour queue just for a sandwich or coffee. Want a piddle? That'll mean a 20 min queue too! My advice: Bring all the food and drink you need and maybe one of those fold up chairs too.
Date published: 2015-11-14
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not impressed The fact that the Vulcan could not come for technical reasons was poorly communicated despite the organisers' claim to the contrary. It led to an early mass exodus, and again despite contrary claims the stewards simply failed to control the exiting traffic leading to a free for all. There may be excuses such as the extra parking arranged by another organisation causing the roads to be obstructed. The signage on arrival was poor, and any driver coming from the Bath direction was left to their own devices; not every one has sat nav. The catering was very limited ( an apology was given at the show). The commentary was amateurish and laddish. The fact that no warning was given of detonations led to frightened children. I feel sad making these comments because a huge effort had gone into the show which was spectacular and riveting at times. I am sure that future shows will go better. ( PS you state do not include any personally identifiable information such as full names. My real email address includes my full name , so this one has to be fictitious - a shame)
Date published: 2015-11-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Could do better Firstly let me say that the air show itself was first class. But... the display started 2 hours later than see tickets stated which meant extra waiting around and next year you really need to sort out the car park as getting out of it was a complete and utter nightmare.
Date published: 2015-11-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from local venue does good The air show was well organized, different examples of ww1 and 2 aircraft. The static display was over subscribed. The food stalls could have been more numerous. Retail stalls were few, maybe after the success of this year more will come. Main ticket was expensive compared with other shows and their content.
Date published: 2015-11-14
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Worst event of the year! I went to the event & it was bad!. Waited nearly 2 hours & spent £ 48.00 on burgers/chips & drinks for 3 Adults & 2 Kids!. Only came to see the Vulcan Bomber & it was cancelled with 5 mins notice, rest of it was poor!. Not enough stands/catering/no beer tent!. Poor directions to event, especially to Vip parking.
Date published: 2015-11-14
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good, but better organisation required The flying was great once it started at around 1pm with many different aircraft displaying. The only information we had prior to arriving at the venue was the gates were at 8am with no program or information available and the gate didn't open until 9am, leaving people standing in the car park for over an hour. Not until 10am did the PA system start stating the order of the day. There were also only three catering options for 1000s of people. We queued for 1.5hr for food and met people later who queued over 3hrs! Slightly disappointing but it is a good venue with a nice outlook and this was their first attempt, so lessons learnt, the potential is there to make it a great event to attend in the future.
Date published: 2015-11-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great airshow visited with my family aged 2, 6 & 8 both boys and girls they all loved the airshow, it was a great atmosphere shame the Vulcan had to cancel but we all loved it. Big highlight was entrance to the museum where they got to sit at the controls of many of the aircraft nose sections. Will definitely be going again if they hold it.
Date published: 2015-11-13
Rated 1 out of 5 by from My worst expereince of the year I took my wife as she wanted to see the Vulcan which did not turn up, it was a total waste of a day and it took hours to get out due to the badly organised car parking and the attendants
Date published: 2015-11-13
Rated 2 out of 5 by from A frustrating introduction to air shows This was our first airshow, prompted by our only remaining opportunity to see the Vulcan bomber air display in the southern area. I believe the organisers were inundated by the response, many other visitors had the same idea as us. Over an hour queuing to park up, & the same to leave afterwards. The caterers let the organisers down badly so enormous queues awaited the few remaining facilities. To cap it all the Vulcan was no-show. On the positive side the air displays that did take place were well executed & coreographed.
Date published: 2015-11-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing event I was very surprised that this was such a great little event. So good I'm going again
Date published: 2015-11-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very close to the action I went to the Old Sarum airshow for the first time this year. I'm used to going to larger airshows, but this is the first time I have been to a small airfield. The viewing area is on the edge of the grass runway area. The action was easy to see and I have never seen such tiny planes flying close up before. It was amazing. The Vulcan was meant to turn up, but got cancelled. Even that didn't spoil the enjoyment of being so close to the action. The only downside was the limited catering facilities which meant a very long queue for food or a cup of tea, probably due to the crowds drawn to see the Vulcan.
Date published: 2015-11-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful! Due to the intimacy this was probably the best air show I have been to. Just fabulous, so sad the Vulcan was unable to get to us. We commented that had she come the set up of the air show would've provided an amazing spectacle of her with Sally b. Nether the less we had a fantastic day, drinking a properly made cup of tea out of an actual mug watching a spitfire flying around was outstanding! I will be back next year!
Date published: 2015-11-11
Rated 2 out of 5 by from No food While the actual air displays were very good, the catering was appalling. Apparently one of their concessions had failed to show up, but one more concession would have made only the smallest dent in the four hour queue (yes, four hours) for food. And that was after having to queue for an hour driving through Salisbury to get to the place. Having finally got something to eat, we collapsed on the grass for the last hour of the show, only to hear that the Vulcan wasn't showing up either. A terrible afternoon out.
Date published: 2015-11-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from old sarum air show I went to old sarum air show with a friend of mine it was a great airshow hope thay do have another one in 2016
Date published: 2015-11-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A good first event Small airshows are always good for individual character and being close to the action. OSA did not disappoint. It was a shame that the Vulcan did not make it but these things happen with air shows. The best bit of the show was the WW1 display with the biplanes and triplanes, a truly unique item. I expect the queuing particularly on leaving was a problem, I got lucky and got out fairly quickly, although all access is on one road more exits should still speed things up. My main criticism of the event was the lackof time information before hand, nothing on the website about when gates open, display starts let alone running order and then rather scant until the event got going. No one expects things to run exactly to plan but it would have been nice to have some idea. Still it was an enjoyable event.
Date published: 2015-11-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Really enjoyable day Airshow excellent. First world war aircraft display was highly enjoyable, Second world war aircraft displays exceptional. Gyrocopter, the aircraft dropping sock bombs & hitting (trying to hit!) baloons great fun. Food stalls inadequate & was a disaster despite the staff doing their best to serve the masses! Museum well worth a visit.
Date published: 2015-11-09
  • y_2018, m_7, d_22, h_5
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_80
  • loc_en_GB, sid_old-sarum-airshow, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_seetickets
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.1.1.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 0ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT