Peter Hook & The Light Tickets and Dates

Read Customer Reviews
PETER HOOK & THE LIGHT is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 27.
  • y_2019, m_7, d_20, h_24
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_27
  • loc_en_GB, sid_peter-hook-the-light, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_seetickets
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.1.1.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 125ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

What people are saying about Peter Hook & The Light

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth travelling from Oz for, and then some! I travelled from Australia for this gig, having seen the band a dozen times previously and knowing how truly awesome they are. I wanted to be there for the start of the new tour, as I was for their last tour (Substance)! I was not disappointed, of course. Hooky gave 100% as usual and The Light were solid. There were a few hiccups but they powered through and the crowd soaked it up, going crazy for the encore especially. I enjoyed it immensely and can't wait for them to take this tour all over the world! It was absolutely well worth travelling so far for, and spending all that money on! (I clicked on a link in an email to write this review; nowhere does it say on here which gig I'm reviewing - and I deleted the email - but rest assured it goes for all three gigs I attended in London, Manchester, and Glasgow!)
Date published: 2018-10-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic gig To finally hear joy division tunes and the hear technique played was superb. Great sound amazing tunes, venue was amazing
Date published: 2018-10-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Hooky in London Great gig - seen him before at various venues i.e supporting Happy Mondays in Hull in August 2018 Good venue for his band and audience
Date published: 2018-10-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from fabulous event went to this with some friends - what a fabulous night. PH knows how to get the crowd bouncing!!
Date published: 2018-10-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome just doesn’t describe! This was my 4th PH&TL gig in two years and they just keep getting better and better. Not just the two albums in full but all the Joy Division and New Order hits too. Almost 3 hours of total bliss!
Date published: 2018-10-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super night 100 percent from the band again! Great atmosphere at the Albert Hall!!
Date published: 2018-09-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Peter Hook FFS Its Peter Hook FFS , he is The man, in a few words just describe your experience , don't do a Snowman and write a review like an episode of 24 . It should be short and sweet and if you don't have the brains for humour then just don't try.
Date published: 2018-02-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Hoooooky! Hoooky! Joy Divsion studio albums never quite captured their live sound. Seeing Hooky is nearest you'll get.
Date published: 2017-12-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Completely overawed what a show Fantastic event, amazing to witness some classic Manchester music from my youth! Peter was a real frontman with impeccable support from the band! Really fabulous gig, incredible in fact!!
Date published: 2017-12-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic night in Bristol I last saw New Order in 1989. This gig was better than that night. My wife & myself loved it. Hooky was amazing playing basically everything you would want to hear but wouldn't at a NO gig. A wonderful night. Never thought I would ever hear these tracks live again. Thank you
Date published: 2017-12-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Up there with one of my all time favourite gigs. Great band and great venue which I have been looking forward to all year and I wasn’t disappointed
Date published: 2017-12-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from PH&TL - Bristol 2nd time of seeing PH&TL and once again they put in a decent shift. Sound was very good and the venue intimate, if perhaps a little crowded. Wondering how many more times these guys can be enthusiastic playing same material over and over. I'm certainly not complaining and would defo see them again.
Date published: 2017-12-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Venue and Gig I took my wife as it had been her birthday and she has been a lifelong fan of Joy Division and New Order.
Date published: 2017-12-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing value for money. At a time when a typical concert ticket for "the flavour of the month" will set you back anything up to seventy or eighty quid, it's incredible that Peter Hook can provide two and three quarter hours of solid music for a third of the price. A true legend.
Date published: 2017-12-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A great evening of classic tracks! I'd seen Peter Hook a couple of times before and had slightly mixed feelings... The first time was when he performed the two Joy Division Studio albums back to back and a few New Order tracks as a bonus. I had really enjoyed that gig, but a second visit, to see him perform the first two New Order albums felt a bit flat, especially for the first album. At the time, I suspected some (at least) of that was due to the material - that first NO album falls rather uneasily between a JD album and the different direction New Order would take as they came to terms with the loss of Ian Curtis. When I saw that Hooky was to perform the two Substance albums (effectively the first 'greatest hits' albums of the two groups), I decided this wouldn't suffer that problem and booked myself a ticket, deciding to drive the 50 miles to Salisbury (a city I used to visit frequently in my early years, but have only, rarely, passed through more recently) rather than face the rush to catch a train home from London. I set out early and got to Salisbury about 6:15, time to grab a Nandos and wander briefly around the few Christmas market stalls still open and decide I really do need to go to Salisbury for a day sometime again, before making my way to the City Hall. I'd been here once before, with my son, to see Milton Jones, so I knew what to expect. Arriving about 45 minutes early for the scheduled 8PM start ("No support" - There was a lot of material to cover, so no loss there!), I decided to take a seat as it was unallocated standing or seating as I wished. My plan was to sit for a while and get up and go to the floor once they appeared on stage, but somehow I never did and I had the relative novelty of sitting throughout the event. Whether that changed my view of the gig is hard to say, but this is what I felt. Hooky and his band appeared about 8:10and went straight into a trio of early New Order tracks, "In a Lonely Place", "Procession" and "Cries and Whispers", before starting into New Order's Substance proper with "Ceremony" and "Everything's Gone Green". I can't ever shake the feeling that Peter Hook isn't Bernard Sumner vocally and, whilst some of the tracks were great, especially "Everything's Gone Green", "The Perfect Kiss", "State of the Nation" and the little played "1963" that rounds out New Order's Substance, and Hooky's base is unmistakable and missed from the current New Order lineup, despite his replacement's best efforts, it didn't really sound like New Order. It was good, but, given the choice, I'd rather see the current New Order perform Substance, just because Peter Hook, and one of his colleagues who sang a few of the songs, just don't sound like Barney. I'd imagine it's a bit like seeing Queen, with someone other than Freddie Mercury singing (Not a band I've ever liked, but it seems doubly pointless to see them without their iconic frontman). Also, as NO tracks become more electronic, there are parts where Hooky's bass isn't employed and at times he looked at a bit of a loss, waiting for his chance to return to the fray. After the New Order set, there was a 15 minute or so interval and then they were back, starting into "No Love Lost", "Komakino", "These Days" and a couple of other early tracks, before launching into the original Substance LP order with "Warsaw" and "Leaders Of Men". I think it's true to say that Peter Hook does "Joy Division" better than "New Order" - His vocal style on these tracks does mimic Ian Curtis' to a degree, but does so well, and so they sound more like the recordings and whilst you couldn't quibble about the enthusiasm Hooky put into the NO part of the gig, he seemed more comfortable and engrossed in delivering the JD material. The workrate was relentless, for both albums the tracks followed on instantly from the end of the previous one (A constraint of time, I guess) with few chances to interact with the crowd, except to put one heckler down very effectively early on, wonder at the gap between the audience and the stage and to a have a bit of a joke at one point when the other bass guitarist was having sound issues briefly. For much of the gig I wondered at the wisdom of performing New Order before Joy Division, but the last 15 minutes of the gig proved Hooky knew what he was doing. Ending the night on "1963" would have been anti-climatic, even with "Bizarre Love Triangle" and "True Faith" directly before, but by ending on the LP order of Joy Division (actually the latter release of the two, so perhaps another reason for the order, given Factory's obsession with numbering everything!) we were treated to a finale of "Atmosphere" followed by "Love Will Tear Us Apart". If maybe Hooky doesn't do some New Order tracks as well as the remaining members, they certainly can't hold a candle to his performance of "Love Will Tear Us Apart". You could have forgiven even a generally dreadful performance for the sheer brilliance of that, but of course, there was nothing to forgive as it had been quality entertainment throughout, even if I'm more convinced than ever about where Hooky's ultimate strengths lie. As the last note died, he wished the audience a thank you and a Merry Christmas, before the lights came on and we left - No encore required - Nothing could top that finale!
Date published: 2017-12-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Hooky on form Good venue. Great set. New Order set phenomenal. Audience seemed to love it.
Date published: 2017-12-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was a quality gig The venue is not too big so you can be up and personal with the band Service at the bar was good All in all a great musical experience
Date published: 2017-12-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing night - kept the cold at bay! Travelled up from Devon to see Hooky and the Light and, as usual, he didn’t disappoint. Saw him at Reading a couple of years back which was great but thought the sound balance was better last night and the whole set was fantastic. Nice touch was the dedication to Ian Curtis. Fantastic could watch him every week.
Date published: 2017-12-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Keeping joy division alive! Musically excellent! Superb well work checking out. Excellent band really engaging and exciting.
Date published: 2017-09-21
  • y_2019, m_7, d_20, h_24
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_27
  • loc_en_GB, sid_peter-hook-the-light, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_seetickets
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.1.1.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 0ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT