Richard Thompson Tickets and Dates

Read Customer Reviews
RICHARD THOMPSON is rated 4.9 out of 5 by 32.
  • y_2019, m_5, d_19, h_5
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_32
  • loc_en_GB, sid_richard-thompson, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_seetickets
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.1.1.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 157ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

More Information about Richard Thompson

Richard Thompson is one of this country's greatest songwriters and most distinctive guitar virtuosos, capable of breathtaking drama and sublime delicacy, prompting Rolling Stone to hail him as 'a perennial dark-horse contender for the title of greatest living rock guitarist.' His songs have been covered by everyone from Alison Krauss to Robert Plant.

This date is part of a national tour linked to the September release of his new album 13 Rivers, which features the Electric Trio - his most thrilling and adventurous band

'Richard Thompson put on a show of mercurial mood swings and consistent brilliance - it was a show of pure magic from start to finish' (*****Times)

'Richard Thompson is an extraordinary guitar player, probably the best this country has produced, an utterly sui generis talent' (****Independent)

What people are saying about Richard Thompson

Rated 5 out of 5 by from First time seeing Richard Thompson...... not the last !! So good I’m guessing any future gigs I attend , whoever I see ,will not be able to measure up to this performance from Richard Thompson and his band ! Magical evening
Date published: 2018-10-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best guitarist composer by a mile My husband and I were really looking forward to seeing richRd as it’s hard to get tickets and two came up unexpectedly so we went for it at cadogan ha London. We can now see why Richard is deemed as being one of the best living guitarists. He is adept at playing and has also managed to compose fantastic. Songs with stunning lyrical content.an unforgettable concert!
Date published: 2017-11-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Richard Thompson Pretty good still after all these years, still the best guitar player around.
Date published: 2017-11-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Folk rock Dinasaur No!! Seen the great RT many times in many venues. As always great guitar played with gusto, no-one gets more sound from an accoustic. All the favourite tunes plus a smattering of new material to keep it fresh. Richard's voice has got better with age, plenty of light and shade.Great support act too, from Josienne Clarke and Ben Walker. Just moved to East Anglia and tours don't always make it to Norwich, so more of the same or similar please. The Theatre Royal is a great venue, been updated sympathetically yet retains a great intimacy and great sightlines.
Date published: 2017-10-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Rates among the best shows this year. Richard Thompson was amazing, treating us to 3 encores. He performed a good selection of his well known songs and new material. He shared the event with a very talented support act.
Date published: 2017-10-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best set I've seen My friends and I had great seats in the grand circle with an unrestricted view. The aucoustics were superb. The special guests were very soulful and the lead act superb.
Date published: 2017-10-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from One for the scrapbook Easy to get to, nice theatre, exceptional performer who believes in entertaining his audience.
Date published: 2017-10-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome I’ve been a fan of Richard Thompson for over 40 years but have not been able to see him since 1998. It was very emotional for me because he wrote the soundtrack to my adult life and his songs have brought me joy through some very dark times. He’s ageless and a real force of nature. It’s the first time my wife has been to see him live. We had a wonderful evening.
Date published: 2017-10-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Brilliant evening of music Richard Thomson is a great guitarist and didn’t disappoint. He has a good sense of humour too.
Date published: 2017-10-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A brilliant evening! Richard Thompson has such a wealth of songs that each one he performed is completely unique & different from the last. Being a teenager in the 60's, I was a fan of Fairport from the start but I'd never had the pleasure of seeing Richard perform solo live. I took a friend aged 72 who had never heard of him but she left the hall in complete awe. His guitar playing & voice identify him immediately, & the atmosphere in the hall was really warm & friendly between him & his admiring audience. The memory of that wonderful evening will stay with me for ever.
Date published: 2017-10-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Husband's birthday present, he was blown away by the experience.
Date published: 2017-10-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from As good as it gets This is the third time my wife and I have seen rt. He can only be underrated by those who have never seen him. Listening electronically to him does not explain how this one man orchestra makes beautiful, edgy sounds. You have to see him. Then you can enjoy a 50 year back catalogue. I love James Taylor and this guy in his very different way is on the same level. Young guitarists should check him out.
Date published: 2017-10-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Phenomenal Blown away by the sheer virtuosity of this amazing musician. He managed to create the atmosphere of a whole band with just one voice, six strings and ten fingers. And the songs, oh the songs.........
Date published: 2017-02-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Brilliant evening This was an evening of pure pleasure, Richard Thompson on stage for two hours or more with one guitar. He moved seamlessly from one song to the next, a few anecdotes and links in between to engage with the audience. What he gave us was a showcase of his career many old favourites and some newer songs, wonderful.
Date published: 2017-02-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Master Plank Spanker in London RT always demonstrates just how good a singer, guitarist and songwriter can really be. He is a musical force of nature!
Date published: 2017-02-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A pure musical genius I booked this as a surprise for a friend, having met Richard previously through my work situation I was keen to see him perform and do what he was obviously born to do. The concert was amazing and it was clear to see why this great and talented performer has a huge following of loyal and passionate fans. The venue is beautiful, very intimate, providing excellent sounds and the lighting was very well done. On the downside the seating was very confusing - doors for the concert opened at 5.30 an hour and a half before the support act was due on. It was clear to see why this amount of time was required as practically everyone was struggling to find their seats! This wasn't helped by the lack of knowledgable staff to offer direction. On the subject of staff I would say that if ever you visit this venue and have reason to go to the stage door - THINK TWICE! We were trying to gain legitimate access to back stage with proper passes and the girl manning the stage door was exceptionally rude and unhelpful and seemed to have little or no knowledge of what was even happening within the venue - she was indeed the worst part of our visit. That said if you ever get chance to visit this wonderful venue I would highly recommend as it is definitely worth seeing and experiencing
Date published: 2017-02-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Lovely venue and a brilliant guitarist First visit to CAdogan HAll, and what a spacious and elegant place. Perhaps the venue overawed the audience, as i felt it was a very restrained (almost reverant) response to an exhibition of finger-picking and rollicking rhythms.
Date published: 2017-02-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from RT was brilliant as always Even though he forgot a verse he didn't falter and gave a masterful performance.
Date published: 2017-02-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome acoustic performance by legendary Richard Thompson Never been tp Cadogan Hall but will definitely go again. Good bar with excellent staff. Nice atmosphere on arrival with solo performers 'busking' in the entrance hall. Good staff on the doors. Great supporting act who was asked the morning of the concert as the previous act pulled out due to sickness. Bob Harris compered and he was a joy to see. Richard was awesome. Had a lady to sing harmonies for a few songs. Forgot a verse but even made that entertaining and went back to it wen he remembered it. He played only one encore though despite as giving him a standing ovation at the end. My only criticism is to wonder if it wasn't the resident sound tech as Richard had too much (for me) reverb on voice.
Date published: 2017-02-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Richard Thompson never fails! I went to this event by myself. Amazing venue and an excellent performance by Richard Thompson.
Date published: 2017-02-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A class act! The incomporable Richard Thompson played a one off date at London's Cadogan Hall - a sold out show in front of a hugely appreciative audience. A warm and touching introduction by our own Bob Harris as this show was an 'Under the Apple Tree' concert. Solo, acoustic, apart from a couple of songs towards the end of the set, where Thompson was joined by Siobhan Maher Kennedy, on backing vocals. A fabulous night - Thompson's guitar playing is jaw dropping and you might easily believe that there were one or two others playing guitar alongside him, such is his expressive playing. His wry lyrics inevitably bring a smile to one's face and I never, ever tire of hearing songs such as Valerie, Vincent Black Lightning 1952, Wall of Death - great to hear some new material too. A class act. Very good opening set from Emily Barker (a late replacement for Wildwood Kin).
Date published: 2017-02-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Richard Thompson in Top Form! Richard Thompson's mastery of the acoustic guitar seems to get deeper and broader every time I see him. His ability to improvise complex picked and strummed chordal/multi-note cascades just boggles my mind and hear. While there was less of the witty stage banter that I've become accustomed to over year, the playing was Revelatory. Honestly, I used to go see him whenever he would come to New York in the 70's, 80's and 90's, and he was first an electric player second to none who then became an acoustic player second to none ... and he really does appreciate that each instrument offers very different possibilities rather than just approaching them as guitars. But most astounding is that when I saw him 40 years ago he was one of the best guitar players I've ever seen, but over time, in large part due to his personal dedication to his art and craft, every time I see him, he seems to be a better player than he was before, and that's saying something. It was an evening of glorious music.
Date published: 2017-02-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The songs pour down like silver A peerless performance of old and new songs by a master songwriter and guitarist. Ably supported at short notice by the fabulous Emily Barker
Date published: 2017-02-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Thommo still delivers top rated goods his new three piece ensemble were fabulous reaching into tunes new and old, revitalising them, excellently miked and fabulously engineered, the audience was treated to an evening of amazing talent and virtuousity.
Date published: 2015-11-28
  • y_2019, m_5, d_19, h_5
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_32
  • loc_en_GB, sid_richard-thompson, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_seetickets
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.1.1.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 0ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT