The Musical Box Tickets and Dates

Read Customer Reviews
THE MUSICAL BOX is rated 4.6 out of 5 by 50.
  • y_2020, m_2, d_20, h_18
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.5
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_50
  • loc_en_GB, sid_the-musical-box, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_seetickets
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.1.1.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 172ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

What people are saying about The Musical Box

Rated 5 out of 5 by from There are tribute bands then there's The Musical Box. If you like Genesis from 70-75 then these are the guys for you. Not only are they note perfect they put on a fantastic show. They are quite simply amazing !!
Date published: 2016-11-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Musical Box I went with a friend to see this great tribute band to the Peter Gabriel era of Genesis, who took us back to the Selling England by the Pound tour and set list from 1973. Musically and visually brilliant as always. The downside to what was a great evening had to be the over zealous staff at The Forum, who couldn't spot the difference between an innocent picture on a mobile phone to a serious recording camera, and were policing their duties to excess...you also have to bear in mind the majority of fans who saw the original Genesis line up in 1973 are now mostly in their 60s. To see them being made to look like naughty children at their age was quite pathetic. It didn't take away what was a fantastic evening.
Date published: 2016-11-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Musical Box @ G Live Guildford I went with my son It was absolutely awesome. More Genesis than Genesis
Date published: 2016-11-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Musical Box are a must see for all 70s Genesis fans This was the 3rd time I've seen Musical Box and they didnt disappoint. The only down side was the fact that the gig was standing only, whereas other venues are seated. Due to a recent illness i had asked the venue direct for a chair which they kindly offered but if i had taken up the offer i would not have been able to see the band
Date published: 2016-11-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Step back in time I have seen Musical Box previously performing The Lamb tour and Trick of the Tail so knew what to expect. The Apollo Hammersmith was however a step up in venue size but the band embraced the healthy sized audience and delivered a slice of pure 70s prog rock indulgence. The show is completely faultless, there isn't even any point in discussing how well or badly they played it was quite simply a perfect recreation of the Selling England tour; stage set, instruments, song intros, lighting, costumes, the attention to detail is utterly remarkable. The set is pretty much a greatest hits of pre-Lamb Genesis, the title track "Selling England.." was superb, "Firth of Fifth" magnificent, "Horizons" beautiful, "Cinema Show" epic and the closing number "Supper's Ready" formidable. A rousing rendition of "The Knife" bought the evening to a close. It's a slightly odd experience, you can't just describe it as a "gig" and to describe The Musical Box as a tribute band is ludicrous. It is closer to a theatrical performance and everyone plays their part perfectly. Phenomenal show, really hoping they tour the Lamb again next, I would love to see it again.
Date published: 2016-11-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best gig of the year I missed the gig in 1973 and had front row seats for this gig. It's a fantastic show, accurate down to the foot pedals. Superb musicianship and a fabulous set. Certainly not a tribute this is a piece of history recreated in detail. Sound balance was perfect, though I felt Peter Gabriel could have been a little higher in the mix.
Date published: 2016-11-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Genesis The Genesis super era was completely encapsulated by this faithful and diligent performance by The Musical Box at the Eventim Apollo in London. The sound, the set, the theatrics were faithful to what was and what can never be again, with all players playing their parts in a ‘homage’ that carried authenticity and weight with a measure of self-deprecating humour courtesy of verbatim mimicry of Peter Gabriel’s quirky, if somewhat awkward and dated in fills and intros. It was a retrospective in real time, with props, mannerisms and lighting to recreate and support dedicated musicianship to honour and do full justice to the music and lyrics of Genesis. Whist elements may seem dated, it is quite likely that they will endure and prove to be timeless capturing a musical and cultural era that was ground breaking and yet naïve, but underpinned by creative writing and performances of a highly professional level when technology was very basic, making the accomplishment by The Musical Box even more astounding.
Date published: 2016-11-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just like being at a Genesis gig! Having seen Musical Box a couple of times before we expected the same format - tour album in the first half - old favourites in the second. So imagine our joy when Firth of Fifth came up in the first half: nothing surpasses this sublime feat of genius! Once the desert-island disc to conquer all – Supper's Ready – came up a bit later, it was obvious that there wasn't going to be a second half. But it was none the worse for that. What a great band this is - from the perfect reproduction of 'Pete Gabriel' to the athletic prowess of 'Phil Collins',, the modest excellence of 'Steve Hackett' and 'Mike Rutherford' to the joyful gymnastics of 'Tony Banks' - could there be a better way to spend an evening?
Date published: 2016-11-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Outstanding show 8 of us went - all 1st timers - and were amazed at the sheer quality of the performance. Extraordinary musicianship brought to life by 'Gabriel's' engaging theatricals and props. Hopefully it will be 'The Lamb' next year!
Date published: 2016-11-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from AS GOOD AS THE ORIGINALS..? An absolutely fantastic show, took me right back to the same one 43 years ago - these guys are just brilliant at what they do!
Date published: 2016-11-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Musical Box I've seen this amazing Canadian Genesis tribute band twice before. You have to be a bit special to do tribute tours, world tour, and they certainly are special. An amazing night.
Date published: 2016-11-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great show, thoroughly enjoyed it! Massive Genesis fan and have seen Musical Box previously doing Lamb lies down. Selling England by the pound was great, a real treat and great homage to Genesis.
Date published: 2016-11-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A real tribute to Genesis I was very disappointed to find that we were standing on an uneven floor in a somewhat tired venue, making for an uncomfortable evening However, despite the limitations of the venue the guys performed a very authentic tribute to Genesis, including all of Mr Gabriel's theatrical elements The musicians were stunning and I would like to thank them all for a thoroughly enjoyable evening despite the poor venue
Date published: 2016-11-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from just like '73 I have seen The Musical Box on several occasions now and they just keep on delivering, Sunday night at the Apollo Manchester they took us back to 1973 (and beyond!) for Selling England By The Pound and it was excellent, musically and visually.
Date published: 2016-11-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Brilliant show The show was brilliant took me back in time . Wasn't impressed with see tickets communication about the tickets and last minute seat change
Date published: 2016-11-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Play me my song... One of the best experiences I've ever had. Everything a Genesis fan could want. The show was a complete replica from the set design, projections, lightshow, costumes, amplifiers, instruments. The band were remarkable, the lead singer sounded just like Mr Gabriel and delivered all the preamble, choreography, vocal and flute verbatim - if you ever wished you'd seen Genesis pre "The Lamb" get yourself a ticket to see this band
Date published: 2016-11-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Possibly the best visual audio experience ever My friends and I were blown away ... a must see for Genesis fans
Date published: 2016-11-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Brilliant! Excellent concert covering I guess what was probably a Typical Genesis concert from 1973/74 era. Great costumes for the Peter Gabriel part. The set was I guess a copy of that particular era too!
Date published: 2016-10-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Emotional So so good on all levels,getting better with age,please come back with the Lamb or Foxtrot,
Date published: 2016-10-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Genesis tribute Loved this show! Can't travel back in time, so I've got no chance of seeing the real thing. This group were a more than acceptable substitute; sounded great.
Date published: 2016-10-31
Rated 3 out of 5 by from A Great Genesis Experience This was a brilliant recreation of the Genesis 'Peter Gabriel in weird fancy dress era'. All in all this was really great and accurate musicianship with the lead singer even having Gabriels speaking voice accurate! Only let down by the sound mix, keyboards way too loud and lead vocals way too quiet and completely lost in some songs such as The Knife, which was a great shame. This may have been down to the big echoey venue (Bath Forum), who knows? I'm not a sound engineer but I know what I like (pardon the pun).
Date published: 2016-10-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Outstanding! Was excited to see The Musical Box and they more than lived up to expectations. Amazing stage show. Musically and vocally perfect. Can't wait for next time!
Date published: 2016-10-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Outstanding Excellent performance but the sound was too loud and drowned out the voice of 'Peter Gabriel'.
Date published: 2016-10-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A great alternative to the real thing Wonderful standard of entertainment from a talented tribute band. Saw them approx 12 years ago and although still great not quite as good as last time. I am a lifelong Genesis fan and will always be super critical.
Date published: 2016-10-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A show that stirs your soul If you love Genesis and yearn to go back to 1973, This is the concert for you. Will definitely go again. I spoke to people who had seen this concert three times. That's a endorsement in itself.
Date published: 2016-10-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Not to be missed!! They were unbelievably Great!! Did Genesis Proud!! If You get a chance, GO!!
Date published: 2016-10-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very loud! But true to original. We went to see this band because we are great Genisis fans. Travelled a long way to get there. Quality of the music and performance was excellent. However, we spent a lot of time with our fingers in our ears due to the volume. Spoilt it for us overall.
Date published: 2016-10-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from No1 Gabriel era Genesis tribute band. This is the 3rd time I have seen The Musical Box and they are superb. Using authentic instruments, costumes and original sets authorised by Peter Gabriel.
Date published: 2016-10-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The best 70s prog album ever - live!!! I have seen SEBTP and The Lamb shows by TMB before, but this was so special! My daughter came along having developed a taste for Prog and was blown away by the pure theatre which Genesis, particularly Peter Gabriel had created and TMB continue to re-create so accurately. Musically, visually and emotionally spot on. I met a couple former pupils who were experiencing TMB live for the first time as well and it was great to share their euphoria. Can't wait until next gig and so glad TMB return to Scotland.
Date published: 2016-10-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Yet another Barn Storming Performance ! We have seen The Musical Box several times and always in Large venues Paris Olympia, London Hammersmith and the like. So, tto see them in a more intimate venue was a really special. I imagine that Genesis played such venues in their early career. Stand out is always difficult when discussing this band but The Solo in Firth of Fifth and Supper's Ready are staple exciting periods in the concert and The Musical Box really delivered in this small venue which was well packed.
Date published: 2016-10-28
  • y_2020, m_2, d_20, h_18
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.5
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_50
  • loc_en_GB, sid_the-musical-box, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_seetickets
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.1.1.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 0ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT