Matilda The Musical

Cambridge Theatre, London

More information about Matilda The Musical tickets

  • Matilda the Musical: A Show that's Anything but Child’s Play

    The magical stories of Roald Dahl have been told and retold many times over the years, but few retellings have had quite the same impact as Matilda. The show has been critically acclaimed the world over and is brought to you by the Royal Shakespeare Company, adapted for the stage by Dennis Kelly with music from Aussie comedian Tim Minchin. Indeed, with seven Olivier Awards in 2012 and successful runs in the West End, Broadway, Sydney and beyond, this children’s classic is now a modern hit. Staying true to Dahl's book, Matilda the Musical tells the story of a young girl with magical powers. Able to move objects with her mind, Matilda eventually learns to use her gift for the greater good. As we’re taken through a series of unfortunate events, often perpetuated by the imposing Miss Trunchbull, the unlikely heroine finds the courage to shine. Helped along the way by the kind-hearted Miss Honey, this sweet story gives you the type of feel–good vibes often reserved for Hollywood movies. In fact, it's Matilda’s ability to combine music, theatrics and drama that’s made it a hit. By covering all bases and adding a new dimension to a story many of us already know and love, this show provides drama and entertainment for audiences young and old.

    The Kids Are More than Alright: Why We Love Matilda

    Miss Trunchbull may not like those revolting children but theatregoers around the world do. When a musical can showcase upcoming talent in a natural way, it’s always a hit and Matilda is no exception. While critics will wax lyrical about the staging and storyline, regular audience members have been struck by the performers. Proving that age is only a number, the young actors and actresses set a furious pace and never miss a beat. Capturing the highs and lows of growing up in an exceptionally tough environment, the performers give Matilda a sense of rhythm that only the young could. Of course, we can't ignore the slightly warped world shown on stage. Dahl had a unique way of making the unusual feel strangely normal and Matilda is a perfect example of that. Throughout the show, subtle touches make you remember that this is a school unlike any other. However, in among the fantastical setting, real emotions spring abound. By the end of the show, the stream of highs and lows combine to create an uplifting and inspiring finale.

    Class is in Session: Book Tickets for Matilda

    Class is still in session on a weekly basis and, if you're looking to attend, you'll need a ticket. Here at See Tickets, we've got you covered. Using our booking platform, you'll be able to find the perfect seats at a time and date that suits you. What's more, our platform is designed to be as user–friendly as possible. So, you won't have to fear a telling off from Miss Trunchbull if you make a mistake when you book tickets for Matilda.

    An Uplifting Story Leaves Matilda Critics Smiling

    Recreating a literary classic is never easy but the critics seem to agree that Matilda the musical has done it fantastically well.

    "Mix Tim Minchin's genius with Roald Dahl's eternal appeal and you really do have something special." – Stefan Kyriazis, The Express.

    "For the children that we all remain at heart, this is wise, wicked, glorious fun."  – TimeOut.

    "A funny, fast and furious production that touches the heart thanks to outstanding performances from all the 30 strong company."  – Liam Rudden, Edinburgh Evening News.

    Important Information


    £1.50 restoration levy (collected on behalf of the theatre) appears as part of the face value.

    BOOKING PERIOD: Until 31 May 2021

    PERFORMANCE TIMES: Tuesday - Friday 7pm, Saturday: 7.30pm, Wednesday: 2pm , Saturday 2.30pm and Sunday 3pm

    RUNNING TIME: 2 hours, 40 minutes (including 1 interval)

    ACCESS PERFORMANCES:

    Saturday 28 March 2020 at 2:30pm – Audio Described

    Sunday 29 March 2020 at 3:00pm – Captioned Performance

    Saturday 25 April 2020 at 2:30pm – Signed Performance

    Saturday 16 May 2020 at 2:30pm – Captioned Performance

    Sunday 17 May 2020 at 3:00pm – Audio Described

    AGE RESTRICTION: Matilda The Musical is recommended for a general audience. As an advisory to adults who might bring young people, the show is suitable for ages 6 and up. All persons entering the theatre, regardless of age, must have a ticket. Babes-in-arms are not admitted to the auditorium. All children must be old enough to occupy their own seats.

    VENUE: Cambridge Theatre, Earlham Street, London WC2H 9HU, UK

    Watch The Trailer

    Spotify Playlist

    Production Shots


    Matilda The Musical

  • ★★★★★
    "AN EVENING OF UNADULTERATED BLISS.

    Writer Dennis Kelly and composer and lyricist Tim Minchin go to the top of the class with this anarchically joyous, gleefully nasty and ingenious musical adaptation of Roald Dahl's story."
    The Guardian

    ★★★★★
    "UTTERLY EXHILARATING.
    Matthew Warchus's colourful riot of a production achieves an even dizzier balance between gleeful, grotesque, fun and heart-tugging poignancy, brilliantly drilled dynamism and warm, unforced charm."
    The Independent

    ★★★★★
    "THE QUEST FOR A GREAT NEW MUSICAL IS OVER."
    Evening Standard

    ★★★★★
    "SMART, QUIRKY AND SUBLIMELY GOOD FUN.
    A moving and subtle spectacle which will have kids in stitches and adults in tears. It is guaranteed to delight anyone who's ever been a child. I can't wait to see it again."
    Time Out

    "Writer Dennis Kelly and composer and lyricist Tim Minchin go to the top of the class with this anarchically joyous, gleefully nasty and ingenious musical adaptation of Roald Dahl's story"
    The Observer

    Matilda The Musical is the multi-award winning musical from the Royal Shakespeare Company, inspired by the beloved book by the incomparable Roald Dahl.

    Winner of over 85 international awards, including 16 for Best Musical, Matilda continues to delight audiences in London, Australia and on tour around the USA.

    Important Information


    £1.50 restoration levy (collected on behalf of the theatre) appears as part of the face value.

    BOOKING PERIOD: Until 31 May 2021

    PERFORMANCE TIMES: Tuesday - Friday 7pm, Saturday: 7.30pm, Wednesday: 2pm , Saturday 2.30pm and Sunday 3pm

    RUNNING TIME: 2 hours, 40 minutes (including 1 interval)

    ACCESS PERFORMANCES:

     

    Saturday 28 March 2020 at 2:30pm – Audio Described

    Sunday 29 March 2020 at 3:00pm – Captioned Performance

    Saturday 25 April 2020 at 2:30pm – Signed Performance

    Saturday 16 May 2020 at 2:30pm – Captioned Performance

    Sunday 17 May 2020 at 3:00pm – Audio Described



    AGE RESTRICTION: Matilda The Musical is recommended for a general audience. As an advisory to adults who might bring young people, the show is suitable for ages 6 and up. All persons entering the theatre, regardless of age, must have a ticket. Babes-in-arms are not admitted to the auditorium. All children must be old enough to occupy their own seats.

    VENUE: Cambridge Theatre, Earlham Street, London WC2H 9HU, UK

    Watch The Trailer

    Spotify Playlist

    Production Shots


    Matilda The Musical

What people are saying about Matilda The Musical

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fabulous show!!! Went to see maltida with my daughter for her b,day...it was absolutely AMANZING..I want to book it again
Date published: 2015-11-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Matilda was the star of the show I took my Mum (54) and Sister (9) to this show and it did not disappoint. Only problem was it didn't end until late, why not have the show on at say 6.45? that way it is done by around 9pm rather then after 10pm! which is not suitable for a young one of 9 to be out in central London.
Date published: 2015-11-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing show that exceeded my expectations This was a Birthday treat with family, we had an amazing time!
Date published: 2015-11-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Show for all ages Went to see the show on 17th October with our 2 daughters aged 20 and 16 and we all absolutely loved every minute of it. The music and acting was first class and would thoroughly recommend it to anyone
Date published: 2015-11-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best musical I have ever seen!! This was our first family trip to the theatre and it was better than we had ever dreamed. Magical performance and captures you from start to finish.
Date published: 2015-11-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing I took my 8 year old daughter as a special birthday treat, we were both blown away! Highly recommend it!
Date published: 2015-11-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The best show ever! We will never forget our night at Matilda the Musical. My 8 year old daughter has been singing the songs non stop ever since. The music, the stage direction, the actors, the props are simply the best I have ever seen. Absolutely wonderful. We would love to see it all over again.
Date published: 2015-11-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Granddaughter's birthday treat! Not sure that this would be my cup of tea but the performance of this young cast was amazing. Granddaughter's first London theatre trip and she absolutely loved it - we'll have to come again no doubt!
Date published: 2015-11-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from great show went with the better half and we both agreed that the kids made the show
Date published: 2015-11-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really enjoyed this show, for young and old alike Took my wife and 13 year old grandaughter to to see this and we really enjoyed the show, theatre is really nice with good all round experience
Date published: 2015-11-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from An explosion of letters but what do they mean? I have never read a word of Roald Dahl in my life and the idea to go to the show was my daughters. Even before the show started the intrigue began with the letters! From the moment the show itself started I was hooked and I didn't want it to stop; every second was enjoyable. The star, 'Matilda' was awesome and delightful. Both my daughters preformed on the stage in their formative years so I have some itself into what is excellence on stage and that young girl had it in abundance. The other children didn't disappoint either and they were full of energy and were clearly having a ball. The adults were also very good but how do compete with the children? The performances are still whirling around in my mind. Thank you for staging this wonderful show.
Date published: 2015-11-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Absolutely Brilliant This is the 2nd time we have seen Matilda in 6 months, this time took both my young children, who both thoroughly enjoyed it. Also took the 'oldies' who was mesmerised by the wonderful talent. We will be back for a 3rd visit.
Date published: 2015-11-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Matilda - excellent show A brilliant entertaining afternoon and a first class show all round. The children and all cast were fantastic.
Date published: 2015-11-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A brilliant musical for the whole family I went with my mother who is a pensioner and my two teenage daughters and we all loved it. The children are very good but then so are the adults. We particularly liked "Miss Trunchbull"
Date published: 2015-11-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Outstanding performance We took our daughter and friend for daughters 13th birthday. Show was amazing. Actress playing Matilda definitely the star of the show although all of cast brilliant :-)
Date published: 2015-11-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A must see for the whole family! A fabulous family show with something for everyone. The talent on the stage was amazing. The show was more humorous than the film, but still very touching in parts. Our daughters loved it coming away singing along to the amazing songs.
Date published: 2015-11-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fab, wicked I take my grand daughter to London to see a show every year, she loved it seats were great and a good price certainly will book next year.
Date published: 2015-11-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Must see Simply brilliant . One of the best shows we have seen over many years and after all the good reviews we had seen and recommendations from family and friends we were not disappointed.
Date published: 2015-11-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A memorable birthday treat We took my daughter for her 9th birthday. Matilda is her favourite book (and film) so we were looking forward to see how it had been adapted for stage. We were not disappointed as we were spell bound by the acting, songs and sets. My daughter confessed afterwards that she sat and shed a few tears as it was a dream come true. A fantastic show and a memorable birthday treat
Date published: 2015-11-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great show, performed well by all Lovely day out with best mate, we were not sure about the show before we went,but really glad we did go as it was one of the best shows we have seen.
Date published: 2015-11-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic night out One of the must-see, must-do things in London has got to be a trip to the West End Theatres and it's wonderful to be so spoilt for choice. So many theatres, so many well reviewed shows but as Tim Minchin is a great favourite Matilda The Musical was top of our Shortlist. If you can see only one show and you love high energy, fun, vibrant musicals then this is the one for you. If you don't like musicals then go anyway because you'll laugh, get to barrack for the good guys and boo the bad ones and just have a rollicking good time. Superb set decoration, great songs, wonderful cast, fabulous staging. I defy anyone to not enjoy themselves. No matter your age being just a little bit naughty is always such fun.
Date published: 2015-11-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Brilliant. Went with my nine year old as a birthday treat, we both loved it. Choreography superb.
Date published: 2015-11-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Outstanding! Amazing show, was blown away by it! Would happily sit through it again, Ms Trunchball star of the show, terrifying! Great family show.
Date published: 2015-11-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing production! I took my nine year old daughter to this show as a Birthday treat. And what a treat it was! Stunning set, fabulous cast and all together an amazing experience.
Date published: 2015-11-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Matilda was one of the best musicals I have ever seen!!!!! I had a 10 hour layover in London and my friend suggested I go see Matilda. WOW! I was blown away by the talent and creativity! The musical numbers were absolutely delightful and I LOVED watching the child actors. I laughed and I was brought to tears at moments. This is a MUST SEE show for EVERYONE!!!!
Date published: 2015-11-03
  • y_2020, m_7, d_14, h_15
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.10
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_33
  • loc_en_GB, sid_matilda-the-musical, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_seetickets
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.1.1.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 0ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Book Tickets